All Saints Lutheran Church

4325 SW Green Oaks Blvd
Arlington, TX 76017

Office: 817-483-1631

CLC: 817-483-6692

Fax: 817-483-8731

Email: office@allsaintsarlington.org

URL: http://allsaintsarlington.org/

Services:

Traditional: 8:45 AM Sunday

Contemporary: 11:00 AM Sunday

Refuel Your Faith: 6:30 PM Wednesday

Upcoming Events!
Live Nativity - December 14
Christmas Cantata - December 15
Christmas Services - December 24
What's Happening?
A picture of All Saints Lutheran Church The All Saints Logo

For All the Saints - November 8, 2019

“Very truly, I tell you, the hour is coming, and is now here, when the dead will hear the voice of the Son of God, and those who hear will live. For just as the Father has life in himself, so he has granted the Son also to have life in himself; and he has given him authority to execute judgment, because he is the Son of Man.” (John 5:25-27, New Revised Standard Version; assigned reading for Wednesday, November 13)

These days, I’m waiting for a phone call. Not just any call, but “the call.” Our baby is due in late November, and my wife could go into labor at any time. Every time my cell phone rings, I wonder if this is it. And my life is structured around the expectation that the day could come at any time.

As we near the end of the church year, both our daily and our Sunday readings turn toward Jesus’ return. When the Scriptures talk about Jesus’ return, we often hear the reminder to be ready, because that day could come at any time. In the Scripture above, Jesus makes it very clear: “The hour is coming, and is now here.” It’s already here because those who are spiritually dead continue to hear the voice of God in Christ Jesus, calling them to repentance and a new life in God’s kingdom. The hour is coming, because Jesus is coming back soon to execute judgment, giving eternal life to those who believe in him and condemnation to those who continually and finally rejected him.

In this season of waiting, are you ready? Jesus has already spoken and acted on your behalf, so that you may believe. When we believe in him, the ultimate good, our lives reflect that goodness and our hope in eternal life is secure. We are ready. If we do not believe in him, our lives reflect that emptiness and our good works are in vain. But thanks be to God, until that day comes the Holy Spirit is drawing us to Christ, that we might believe and be saved. In Christ, that much-anticipated day is good news!

In Christ,

Pastor John


Scripture Readings through December 5
  • Friday, November 8
    • Genesis 38:1-26
    • Acts 24:10-23
    • Psalm 17:1-9
  • Saturday, November 9
    • Exodus 3:13-20
    • Luke 20:1-8
    • Psalm 17:1-9
  • Sunday, November 10
    • Job 19:23-27a (Used in worship)
    • Psalm 17:1-9
    • 2 Thessalonians 2:1-5, 13-17 (Used in worship)
    • Luke 20:27-38 (Used in worship)
  • Monday, November 11
    • Job 20:1-11
    • 2 Peter 1:16-21
    • Psalm 123
  • Tuesday, November 12
    • Job 21:1, 17-34
    • 2 John 1-13
    • Psalm 123
  • Wednesday, November 13
    • Job 25:1-26:14
    • John 5:19-29
    • Psalm 123
  • Thursday, November 14
    • 1 Samuel 28:3-19
    • Romans 1:18-25
    • Psalm 98
  • Friday, November 15
    • 2 Samuel 21:1-14
    • 2 Thessalonians 1:3-12
    • Psalm 98
  • Saturday, November 16
    • Ezekiel 10:1-19
    • Luke 17:20-37
    • Psalm 98
  • Sunday, November 17
    • Malachi 4:1-2a (Deuteronomy 11:18-21 used in worship)
    • Psalm 98
    • 2 Thessalonians 3:6-13
    • Luke 21:5-19 (Used in worship)
  • Monday, November 18
    • Ezekiel 11:14-25
    • Ephesians 4:25-5:2
    • Psalm 141
  • Tuesday, November 19
    • Ezekiel 39:21-40:4
    • 1 Corinthians 10:23-11:1
    • Psalm 141
  • Wednesday, November 20
    • Ezekiel 43:1-12
    • Matthew 23:37-24:14
    • Psalm 141
  • Thursday, November 21
    • 2 Chronicles 18:12-22
    • Hebrews 9:23-28
    • Psalm 46
  • Friday, November 22
    • Zechariah 11:1-17
    • 1 Peter 1:3-9
    • Psalm 46
  • Saturday, November 23
    • Jeremiah 22:18-30
    • Luke 18:15-17
    • Psalm 46
  • Sunday, November 24
    • Jeremiah 23:1-6
    • Psalm 46 (Used in worship)
    • Colossians 1:11-20
    • Luke 23:33-43 (Used in worship)
  • Monday, November 25
    • Jeremiah 46:18-28
    • Revelation 21:5-27
    • Psalm 24
  • Tuesday, November 26
    • Isaiah 33:17-22
    • Revelation 22:8-21
    • Psalm 24
  • Wednesday, November 27
    • Isaiah 60:8-16
    • Luke 1:1-4
    • Psalm 24
  • Thursday, November 28
    • Daniel 9:15-19
    • James 4:1-10
    • Psalm 122
    • -Or-
    • Deuteronomy 26:1-11
    • Psalm 100
    • Philippians 4:4-9
    • John 6:25-35
  • Friday, November 29
    • Genesis 6:1-10
    • Hebrews 11:1-7
    • Psalm 122
  • Saturday, November 30
    • Genesis 6:11-22
    • Matthew 24:1-22
    • Psalm 122
  • Sunday, December 1
    • Isaiah 2:1-5 (Used in worship)
    • Psalm 122 (Used in worship)
    • Romans 13:11-14
    • Matthew 24:36-44 (Used in worship)
  • Monday, December 2
    • Genesis 8:1-19
    • Romans 6:1-11
    • Psalm 124
  • Tuesday, December 3
    • Genesis 9:1-17
    • Hebrews 11:32-40
    • Psalm 124
  • Wednesday, December 4
    • Isaiah 54:1-10
    • Matthew 24:23-35
    • Psalm 124
  • Thursday, December 5
    • Isaiah 4:2-6
    • Acts 1:12-17, 21-26
    • Psalm 72:1-7, 18-19